Hi, How Can We Help You?
  • Address: 57 Gigiri Court off United Nations Crescent Gigiri
  • Email Address: info@ke.slhc.gov.sl


January 20, 2022

Prof. David J Francis Co-Chairs Ninth Ministerial-Level Meeting on the Reform of the UNSC in Uganda

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of the Republic of Sierra Leone, Prof. David J. Francis has today, 20th January, 2022 co-chaired the Ninth Ministerial—Level Meeting of the African Union Committee of Ten of Heads of State and Government (C-10) on the Reform of the United Nations Security Council alongside the Hon. Gen. Odongo Jeje Abubakhar, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uganda in Kampala. The C-10 was established by the African Union (AU) with the mandate to promote and canvass the African Common Position on the reform of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

Speaking in Kampala, during the summit, the Minister conveyed President Bio’s appreciation to President Musuveni, the Government and People of Uganda for graciously hosting the Ministerial-Level meeting and for their exceptional hospitality.

In his statement, Prof. Francis clearly stated the ultimate demand of Africa in the reform process and said “ The Common African Position is simply about requesting for two seats in the Permanent Category of UN Security Council with all the prerogatives, previledgs and rights including including the veto if retained in the reform process; and two additional seats in the Non- Permanent Category in the UN Security Council”

He entreated all C-10 members and African leadership at large to maintain the Common African Position, consensus, endurance and vigilance in the pursuit of their reform aspirations.

The President of the Republic of Uganda, His Excellency Yoweri Kaguta Museveni formally opened the Ninth Ministerial-Level Meeting. Also present were Foreign Ministers and representatives from C-10 member states and representatives from the African Union including the Commisioner for Political Affairs Peace and Security, Ambassador Bankole Adeoye. The membership of C-10 include the Heads of States and Governments of Senegal, Uganda, Algeria, Kenya, Zambia, Sierra Leone, the Republic of Congo, Libya, Namibia and Equatorial Guinea.

President Museveni emphasised that Africa demands its right in the United Nations Security Council and he implored all African leaders to manage their internal weaknesses and vigorously push for the reform. “ The potential and strength to act is there only if we act fast and together; and we must ensure that UNSC is not used negatively”  the President concluded.

The objectives of the Ninth Ministerial-Level Meeting include: to continue recalibrating and rekindling energy towards achieving the ultimate goal of C-10; to develop more strategies in canvassing and advancing the Common African Position; to build upon the progress thus far, through and with other stakeholders, with a view to taking advantage of the existing commonalities and finding ways of narrowing areas of divergence, for Africa to remain cohesive on all aspects of the process and continue speaking with one voice in unity of purpose without yielding to any undue pressure until the Common African Position enshrined in the Ezulwini Consensus and Sirte Declaration is achieved.



Information Attache’

Sierra Leone High Commission in Kenya


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.